- QNetNews.ca - http://www.qnetnews.ca -

NInety-three faculty members on Sunshine List

By Sam Normand

The number of Loyalist College faculty members earning a salary of over $100,000 a year has almost tripled since 2009, according to the 2011-2012 Public Sector Salary Disclosure.

The Public Sector Salary Disclosure, or “Sunshine List” was created by then Ontario premier Mike Harris in 1996. It shows the names of public service workers who make more than $100,000 a year.

The list of faculty members on the list has grown exponentially in the last six years. In the 2007-08 contract only 15 members were included. In 2009-2010, the number more than doubled to 38.

Loyalist College president Maureen Piercy receives the largest salary at $251,959 per year. Following her are Allan Ross, vice-president corporate services and finances with $181,695 and John McMahon, vice president academic with $166,843.

However, the list reflects the dollar value of 1996, as it has not been adjusted for inflation. It would cost $139,000 to achieve the same spending power in 2012.